r/ios • u/Landonxxx01 • 1d ago
Support Will “remove” on Find My send a iMessage notification?
There’s someone I want to remove from having my location but I don’t want them to get an iMessage notification that I stopped sharing location with them, will the remove option do this?
50
u/throwitawaybutdont 1d ago
You can also block and unblock and it’ll remove your location sharing w/o notification.
13
u/katmndoo 1d ago
Is your iPhone up to date, with the current OS? IF so, you should be fine.
From apple support: (see the last sentence).
"When you stop sharing through any of the methods listed below, your location will disappear from the other person’s Find My, Maps, Contacts, and Messages apps.
IMPORTANT: When you stop sharing your location, the people you previously shared with may notice that you’ve stopped. On earlier operating systems, they may receive a notification in Messages that you stopped sharing."
4
u/foran9 20h ago
I don’t see that mentioned in the user guide so can’t answer the question I have - would that depend on the version of iOS you have or which the other person has? I.e. I’m on 27, so no message appears when someone stops sharing with me, but the other person is still on 26/18/etc so still gets the notification?
1
6
u/WildAsparagus2897 1d ago
My daughter shares her location with me when she goes out with friends and it turns off after 24hours. Sometimes there is a line that shows up in my messages, but it is not a notification or a text bubble. It is just a tiny line of text in between the text bubbles. I looked back a few days ago when she shared her location with me and I did not see the stopped sharing line, so I don't know why it shows sometimes and not others. Usually I do not even notice that it is there since it is not a notification or a text bubble.
If time is not of the essence, and if you want to test the waters to see if they even notice that you are not in their find my app, you could simply turn your phone off and you won't be seen.
If that goes unquestioned, then just turn off the sharing. If that gets questioned, just say something like you had to turn it off for everyone because it wears the battery down too fast.
Or you could say it still shows that you are sharing from your end so you don't know what they have going on…then turn it on and off a few times in an effort to “fix“ it and then just leave it off and play dumb that you don't know what the problem is.
Another approach would be a group chat with a bunch of phone numbers including that person and announce that you are no longer sharing location with anyone, so it doesn't seem like you are singling one person out.
If this is a dangerous situation, though, just stop sharing and offer no explanations. if they question it, just don't reply.
2
u/Key-Monk6159 1d ago
The WHY is important.
They will know when they check your location so if you are just trying to avoid an uncomfortable conversation then stop sharing and if they question you about the notification then say that you just updated your phone as a possible explanation.
1
u/ch-ville 16h ago
I’ve had that happen to me without notification. I think what happened was that the person turned off location services in general, and then just became location unknown AKA “you are sharing your location with this person” Maybe if you stopped sharing with that person after doing that, when you turned LS back on they would just not get an update? Not sure but that seems to be the mechanism in my cases when the person did not know that they were not sharing location any more.
Or just tell them hey, I’m cutting back on my location sharing.
2
1
u/DauntingPear 14h ago
There’s a privacy check-in in settings where you can perform an audit of your location sharing etc
2
u/Dash-of-SaltLake 3h ago
I asked this exact question about a year ago and finally found what to do. You swipe left and delete the location. I tested with a friend first and it works. But you won’t be able to see theirs anymore either. They noticed within hours and I just said I was trying to get rid of phone distractions
-5
u/Ocean4011 1d ago
Whether they get notifications or not is irrelevant- next time they look for your location they will see you have stopped sharing location
-1
u/Sufficient-Mall-6957 1d ago
that’s the real answer right there. the notification is just the immediate heads up but the second they open find my and see you’re gone it’s the same result
if you’re trying to be subtle there’s really no way to do it cleanly. you could stop sharing with everyone for a bit and blame it on a privacy kick or something but that’s still going to raise questions
honestly the best move is just rip the bandaid off and remove them. they’ll figure it out either way so might as well own it
8
u/Practice_NO_with_me 1d ago
…right and maybe avoiding an immediate heads up is the concern? Like needing to get away BEFORE they know you can’t be tracked?
48
u/lukasjames0 iPhone 16 Pro Max 1d ago
It’ll come up in their message as “_____ stopped sharing their location”